The Empire of Kitara

Bunyoro-Kitara Kingdom is the remnant of the once mighty Kitara empire.  Kitara Empire existed in the East and central Africa great lakes region from the early bronze age to about 500 C.E. During its growth under the Chwezi Kings., the (Empire of the sun, Empire of the moon) ruled much of the Nile valley and beyond during its peak.

The empire encompassed of modern day Uganda, Eastern Kenya, eastern D.R. Congo, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Malawi, Zimbabwe and Zambia.

Kitara was ruled by two dynasties, the Batembuzi gods and their successors the Bachwezi, followed by the Biito who assumed the remnant of Kitara; todate called Bunyoro-Kitara Empire, and also took up ruler-ship of other breakaway kingdoms.

The new kingdoms that broke away from Kitara include present day Tooro, Ankole, Buganda, Busoga in Uganda, the Kingdom of Rwanda, Burundi, and Karagwe in northern Tanzania, Mboga, among others Kingdom in the eastern Democratic Republic of Congo.